SOHO: Spoke & Weal haircut and Nickel & Diner lunch

Fashion & food are some of the most important things in this NYC life. Sometimes you just need to treat yourself!

One of the perks of working at NIX is the awesome clientele. One of our regulars is John Reyman, a celebrity hairstylist who owns his own hair salon in SOHO called Spoke & Weal. A haircut from him is $800 but you can snag a deal with one of his master stylists for a mere $175… Nix employees get a deal for their first time. So I went in for my first NYC cut and it was a very lux experience.

Upon arrival you’re given a T-shirt to change into. After changing and a quick orientation, a scalp massage with peppermint oil follows. Dozens of stylists bustle about on the floor in black attire as tunes play softly overhead. The exposed white brick and studio lights create a very chic space. It feels very New York. Anyone who’s anyone would get their haircut here, I’m sure Carrie Bradshaw would agree.

 

After the massage it’s time for a thorough shampoo and conditioning treatment. My hairstylist was Kelsey, a Master Stylist who’s been with the salon since opening two years ago. After the wash, Kelsey and her assistant went to work blow drying my mane. After a dry cut I could feel a breeze on the back of my neck and my the end result was light, trimmed and fabulous!

Feeling fresh as ever after my hair appointment I wandered by Nickel & Diner just around the Corner, a newer sophisticated countertop old school diner style restaurant that opened last November. I popped in and am glad I did.. With a fully equipped coffee bar, this charming scene was too great to pass up, and the Kale Cashew bowl with a poached egg and avo was exactly what I needed… And matcha? Don’t mind if I do!

The crunch from the asparagus and cashews mixed in with sauteed kale was salted to perfection and the sweet potato pureé complimented the dish adding just a hint of sweetness. Then of course the egg yolk and avocado combo on top made this a winning dish.

The menu offers a range egg dishes for breakfast and an array of pastas, burgers, soups and sandwiches for lunch.

There is a fully equipped coffee bar and they can make any coffee concoction you desire. Almond and soy milks are available for the dairy intolerant – which I believe is necessary to run a successful coffee business in this city. I opted for a matcha latte with fresh matcha powder, subbed almond milk and a shot of espresso. It was excellent. Slightly frothy, earthy and not sweet.

Still waiting on their liquor license, Nickel & Diner is BYOB at the moment. If you’re in the area this place is worth a stop in for the coffee alone. The food is fresh and well prepared and you can taste it in every bite. It’s not expensive and the modern day diner ambiance is fabulously chic! Another wonderful day in the life of NYC. I’m never leaving.

 

xx,

S

 

Leave a Reply

